Several Australian Champions have been crowned today on day three of the 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP Titles presented by SAE Group – in both SUP surfing and technical racing disciplines, in divisions including open men, open women, over 40 men, over 40 women, over 50 men, junior men and junior women. Duranbah beach was again the host of the event, which saw clean 2-3ft (1m) waves roll through for competitors.

SUP Surfing

Harry Maskell (NSW) has been crowned Australian Champion in the open men’s SUP Surfing division, scoring a 9.9 (out of a possible 10) on an excellent wave combined with an 9.5 in the last heat of the day for a heat total of 19.15 (out of a possible 20.00) – the highest heat total score of the entire event. Maskell blew judges and spectators away in the 2ft surf to take the win in an outstanding fashion.

“I’ve come close to winning an Australian Title a few times, so I’m super excited to finally win,” said Maskell. “I’m keen to head to the world championships in China for sure. I’m looking forward to seeing some new culture, surfing some waves and having some fun.”

Shakira Westdorp has claimed her 7th Australian SUP Surfing title in the open women’s division, after scoring 16.25 as her two-wave heat total. Westdorp defeated Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW), Skyla Rayner (NSW) and Terrene Black (NSW) respectively in an exciting final heat in pumping waves.

“I’m frothing. I was actually a bit nervous,” said Westdorp. “All the girls were ripping, they’re definitely all big threats. It wasn’t easy.”

“I was stoked to get a couple of nice waves and get a few nice turns in. The waves were fun out there today, you just had to find the right ones.”

“I’m looking forward to the ISA World Championships for sure. I’m feeling good and I’ve been training heaps, so hopefully, I can get a good result.”

In the over 40 men’s division, Steve Morely has been named Australian Champion after taking first place in the final, scoring a two-wave heat total of 16.25 – defeating Justin Holland (NSW), Paul Jones (QLD) and Trafford Harris (WA) respectively.

“I’ve won Queensland titles before, but this is my first Australian title,” said Morely. “It feels good to have the ocean work with you.”

In the over 40 women’s division, Narelle Kuppers (WA) took first place in an exciting final heat, defeating Meleah Zanos (VIC), Patrice Richardson (WA) and Dimity Faulkner (QLD) respectively, scoring a two-wave heat total of 13.65. Kuppers received a huge applause from her Western Australian teammates as the final hooter blew.

The over 50 men’s division saw Adam Robinson (NSW) crowned Australian champion after a win today, defeating Glen Cochran (NSW), Mark Temple (SA) and Chris Twomey (WA) respectively in an exciting heat.

The waves continued to pump for the junior women’s division, which saw Brea Wright (QLD) crowned Australian Champion after winning two aggregate finals (one yesterday, one today) in a row. Wright defeated Isabella Olney (WA) and Sophie May-White (VIC) respectively. She put together a two-wave heat total of 10.50 to take first place.

“I’m super happy to take the win today. I want to thank Surfing Australia and Surfing Queensland for always putting on a good event, I always enjoy them and enjoy the environment,” said Wright.

Technical Racing

James Casey (NSW) has taken first place in the open men’s division in a nail-biting open men’s division technical race. In a difficult paddle-out at Duranbah beach, competitors battled the growing waves and strong winds to make it through to the rest of the course behind the main beach break. It was a leapfrog situation for most of the race between current world champion Michael Booth (WA) and Lincoln Dews (SA) as they raced neck and neck throughout the second, third and even fourth lap. As the group was coming in on the final lap, James Casey managed to catch a wave through the pack and cross the finish line first.

“I’m over the moon. I didn’t think I was going to place today, so I’m definitely happy with that result,” said Casey. “To beat the world champ was the cherry on top.”

Karla Gilbert (QLD) has taken out the open women’s division of the technical race, in the incredible time of 23.48 minutes. Her time was a whole minute ahead of the nearest trailing competitor, Terrene Black (NSW). “I’m stoked to get the win today,” said Gilbert. “I’m feeling good.” Coming in third in the open women’s division was Susan Wilson (WA) and Ke’ale Dorries (QLD) in fourth.

The over 50 open division saw Peter Dorries (QLD/SA) take first place ahead of Crawford Olney (WA), Gordon Stimson (WA) and Paul Mackie (QLD) respectively.

Queenslander Paul Jones (QLD) took first place in the over 40 open men’s division, ahead of Troy Pease (QLD), Chad Islip (QLD) and Evan Green (NSW) respectively.

Melissa Cedelland (NSW) took first place in the over 40 women’s division with an impressive time of 32.08 minutes. She placed ahead of Lisa Cross (NSW), Vanessa Smith and Christiana Chessa (WA) respectively.

Sam McCullough (WA) finished first in the junior men’s division in front of Clayton Kane (NSW).

The junior women division was won by Abbie Walkerdene (QLD), who was stoked to finish the race in the time that she did.

The event will see 25 national champions crowned across divisions including SUP surfing, technical racing and marathon racing. Queensland currently leads the ratings, followed by New South Wales. Tomorrow’s marathon race will be the decider.

The 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP Titles presented by SAE group provides the exclusive pathway to the International Surfing Association’s (ISA) 2019 ISA World SUP & Paddleboard Championships.

For more details, photos, results and scores head to

Event Schedule:

  • Saturday 10th – Monday 12th: Competition period for all SUP surfing divisions/competition period for all SUP and prone technical racing divisions.
  • Tuesday 13th: Competition period for all SUP and prone marathon racing divisions (20km), community marathon racing (20km) divisions.

The 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP titles presented by SAE Group is proudly supported by Hyundai, Gold Coast City Council, SAE Group, Hydralyte Sports, Currumbin RSL, 2XP, Air Asia, The International Surfing Association (ISA), Surfing Queensland and Surfing Australia.