Day two of the 2017 Australian SUP Titles saw five new Technical Racing Champions crowned as well as round one of the SUP Surfing component wrapped up at Palm Beach on the Gold Coast. Lincoln Dews (QLD) took out the Open Men’s technical race and Karla Gilbert (QLD) is the new Open Women’s Champion for 2017.

Today’s racing conditions saw variable onshore winds combine with 2ft (1m) of easterly swell to provide competitors with a challenging playing field to navigate the zig zag style course. The Open Women kicked things off first, with a tight battle between Karla Gilbert and Terrene Black (NSW) seeing the pair putting some length between themselves and Olivia Hall (QLD) at the end of the first lap. The second transition saw Gilbert make the most of the waves on offer to take the lead which she extended in the third and final lap to be the first female over the line in a time of 35 minutes and 47 seconds.

“The first couple of laps were just ironing out the kinks from yesterday’s race, my arms were a bit tired but I tend to warm up during the race and I do love a run leg,” said Gilbert.

“You never know if you’re going to get hit going out through the waves so you just have to keep grinding it out.”

The Open Men’s technical race saw a gruelling battle between Queensland’s Lincoln Dews and Western Australian 2016 Technical Race Champion James Casey. Dews took the lead early on in the first lap and managed to keep his distance for the remaining two and a half laps to take home the Australian title on home turf in tough conditions. Casey finished a close 30 seconds behind in second place, followed by fellow Western Australian and 2017 Open Men’s Marathon Champion Michael Booth.

“It can be hard racing on the Gold Coast with lots of wind and water moving but all the guys were flying out there today,” said Lincoln.

“The Australian Titles are always a big one on my calendar and it’s an honour to race against the best guys in the country.”

The Over 40 Men’s division saw a replay of yesterday marathon race with Queensland’s Paul Jones and Troy Pease finishing in first and second. Jones made it back-to-back victories for 2017, claiming the Australian Title in the technical race on top of his victory in the marathon yesterday. Lisa Cross claimed victory in the Over 40 Women’s division while Michael Stokes (NSW) took home the trophy in the Over 50 Men’s.

Today’s round of competition also saw all heats in round one of the SUP surfing wrapped up. 2016 Open Men’s Champion Kai Bates (NSW) dominated his round one debut, with some huge fins free vertical turns on the clean walls on offer to claim the highest single wave score of the day a near perfect 9.75 (out of a possible 10.00). Bates will now surf in the quarterfinals tomorrow where he will be looking to move one step closer to another Australian Title.

In round one of the Open Women’s SUP Surfing 2016 runner up Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW) was on fire and with two 7.00 rides up her sleeve she managed to hold off Gold Coast local and two time World Open Women’s SUP Surfing Champion Shakira Westdorp. The pair will now meet in the semi final where they will both be opting to progress through to Saturday’s final to lock in a spot at the 2018 ISA World SUP & Paddle Championships.

Other notable names from today’s round of SUP Surfing include Glen Turner (NSW) who took out his opening heat in the Over 40 Men’s with the highest combination score of the round and Narelle Kuppers (WA) who took out her opening heat to secure a place in the semi finals in the Over 40 Women’s division.

The action will continue over the next two day’s, with SUP Surfing Champions set to be crowned and the event wrapped up on Saturday the 18th.

For more information, visit:

Technical Race Results:

Open Men

  1. Lincoln Dews (QLD)
  2. James Casey (WA)
  3. Michael Booth (WA)
  4. Ty Judson (NSW)

Open Women

  1. Karla Gilbert (QLD)
  2. Terrene Black (NSW)
  3. Olivia Hall (QLD)
  4. Kea’le Dorries (QLD)

Over 40 Men

  1. Paul Jones (QLD)
  2. Troy Pease (QLD)
  3. Ben Mardon (WA)
  4. Paul Mackie (QLD)

Over 40 Women

  1. Lisa Cross

Over 50 Men

  1. Michael Stokes (NSW)
  2. Brett Baber (NSW)
  3. Crawford Only (WA)
  4. Richard Finlay (NSW)

Event Dates: 14th -18th November 2017 Schedule:

  • Tuesday 14th November:Opening Ceremony and meetings
  • Wednesday 15th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP & Prone Marathon Racing divisions (20km), Community Marathon Racing (20km) & Flat-Water Sprint Races (200m)
  • Wednesday 15th November 2017:Presentation for SUP & Prone Marathon Racing divisions (20km), Community Marathon Racing (20km) & Flat-Water Sprint Races (200m) divisions
  • Thursday 16th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP & Prone Technical Racing divisions
  • Thursday 16th – Saturday 18th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP Surfing divisions

    The 2017 Australian SUP Titles is proudly supported by Australia’s Gold Coast, Hydralyte Sports, Currumbin RSL, Toyota, The International Surfing Association, Surfing Queensland and Surfing Australia.