Western Australian paddler Michael Booth has taken out the blue ribbon Open Men’s Marathon today at the 2017 Australian SUP Titles alongside Queenslander Angela Jackson who took home the gold in the Open Women’s race.

Over 60 of Australia’s most elite paddlers lined up at Rainbow Bay in Coolangatta today on a picture perfect Queensland morning to compete for an Australian Title and a spot at the International Surfing Association’s 2018 ISA World SUP & Paddle Championships. As the race kicked off, the pack made the most of light winds as they made their way north for the 20km circuit that finished in Currumbin Creek.

Booth looked strong at the half way mark as he led the pack alongside Queensland’s Matt Nottage, Lincoln Dews and Kelly Margetts. In what was a tight race with only one minute separating Booth and Nottage, Booth held his own to be the first competitor over the line in 1 hour and 38 minutes.

“I wasn’t expecting that result, all the boys are racing really well at the moment and I had to work hard for it but I’m stoked to take home an Aussie title again,” said Booth.

“It was pretty difficulty out there today, we chased some small swells for the first 7km to Currumbin rock then grinded away in that 10km flat water section and I was lucky enough to get the win. Matt’s been racing really well all year and has been going from strength to strength.”

After a huge day of racing on day one, the stage is now set for another tight battle at tomorrow’s technical race, where Booth will be aiming to lock in back to back victories for 2017.

The Open Women’s division also saw a close battle between the countries best, with two time World Ironwoman Champion Karla Gilbert (QLD) leading the pack for the duration of the race only to be overcome by fellow Queenslander Angela Jackson in the final few hundred metres of the gruelling course, with Jackson finishing just 22 seconds ahead of Gilbert. 2016 Open Women’s Marathon Champion Belinda Stowell-Brett (WA) finished closely behind in third place with fellow Western Australian Jackie Nicholl finishing in fourth.

In the Over 40 Men’s division, Paul Jones (QLD) came home strong with a winning time of one hour and 47 minutes, three minutes ahead of runner up Troy Pease (QLD). New South Wales paddler Brett Baber took out the Over 50 Men’s division alongside NSW team mate David Hume who finished in second place. In the Over 40 Women’s division it was Cherly Willie (QLD) who crossed the line first as she managed to hold off Lisa Cross (NSW) and fellow Queenslanders Susan Dorries and Julianne White who finished respectively.

The action will resume tomorrow morning with the first round of the SUP Surfing component, followed by the Technical Race.

The location of tomorrow’s round of competition will be determined in the morning. For more information, visit: http://www.australiansuptitles.com

Marathon Results:
Open Mens:

  1. Michael Booth (WA)
  2. Matt Nottage (QLD)
  3. Lincoln Dews (QLD)
  4. Kelly Margetts (QLD)

Open Womens

  1. Angela Jackson (QLD)
  2. Karla Gilbert (QLD)
  3. Belinda Stowell-Brett (WA)
  4. Jackie Nicholl (WA)

Over 40 Men:

  1. Paul Jones (QLD)
  2. Troy Pease (QLD)
  3. Brendan Clark (QLD)
  4. Myles Blackwell (QLD)

Over 40 Womens

  1. Cheryl Willie (QLD)
  2. Lisa Cross (NSW)
  3. Susan Dorries (QLD)
  4. Julianne White (QLD)

Over 50 Men

  1. Brett Barber (NSW)
  2. David Hume (NSW)
  3. Crawford Olney (WA)
  4. Steve Malcom (WA)

Open Men SUP Flat Water Sprint

  1. Paul Stummer (QLD)
  2. Max Garnett (NSW)

Open Women SUP Flat Water Sprint

  1. Kea’le Dorries (QLD)
  2. Chloe Walkerdene (QLD)
  3. Rewiina Mihaere (QLD)

Event Dates: 14th -18th November 2017 Schedule:

  • Wednesday 15th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP & Prone Marathon Racing divisions (20km), Community Marathon Racing (20km) & Flat-Water Sprint Races (200m)
  • Wednesday 15th November 2017:Presentation for SUP & Prone Marathon Racing divisions (20km), Community Marathon Racing (20km) & Flat-Water Sprint Races (200m) divisions
  • Thursday 16th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP & Prone Technical Racing divisions
  • Thursday 16th – Saturday 18th November 2017: Competition Period for all SUP Surfing divisions

    The 2017 Australian SUP Titles is proudly supported by Australia’s Gold Coast, Hydralyte Sports, Currumbin RSL, Toyota, The International Surfing Association, Surfing Queensland and Surfing Australia.