Kai Bates and Shakira Westdorp are 2016 national champions after taking out the City of Greater Geraldton surf divisions on the final day of the 2016 Toyota Australian SUP Titles at Sunset Beach, Geraldton.

Bates won his maiden Open Men’s title with a 17.00 point heat total in the final to edge out fellow New South Wales surfer Martin Cole along with Western Australian brothers Rick and Jake Jakovich in tricky afternoon conditions.

After narrowly missing out on a National title at the 2015 Toyota Australian SUP titles due to an interference call, Bates took the win with 9.00 and 8.00 scoring rides.

In the Women’s Open final,  Westdrop claimed her fifth Australian Title with a heat total of 15.25 (8.25 & 7.00). Westdrop defeated Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW), Monica De-Araujo (WA) and Patrice Richardson (WA).

In the two other divisions, Rick Jakovich won a tight final to become the Over 40’s Men’s champion while Pat Eastwood (QLD) became the number one Over 50’s SUP Surfer in the country.

Geraldton is 419 kilometres north of Perth located on the beautiful Batavia Coast and is blessed with beautiful beaches and a warm, windy climate, making it a popular destination for all water sports enthusiasts. The consistent summer winds make for ideal SUP conditions while the winter waves turn the ocean into a surfer’s paradise. Surfing has been well established along local beaches, with SUP fast becoming a popular activity for people of all ages.

The 2016 Toyota Australian SUP Titles is proudly supported by the City of Greater Geraldton, Sunset Beach Holiday Park, Nikon, AuSUP, Surfing Western Australia and Surfing Australia.

For more information visit www.australiansuptitles.com

SUP Open Men
1st – Kai Bates-NSW
2nd – Martin Cole-NSW
3rd – Rick Jakovich-WA
4th &nd ash; Jake Jakovich-WA

SUP Open Women
1st – Shakira Westdorp-QLD
2nd – Hannah Finlay-Jones-NSW
3rd – Monica De-Araujo-WA
4th – Patrice Richardson-WA

SUP O40 Open Men
1st – Rick Jakovich-WA
2nd – Glenn Turner-NSW
3rd – Ben Mardon-WA
4th – Martin Cole-NSW

SUP O50 Open Men
1st – Pat Eastwood-QLD
2nd – Glenn Cochran-NSW
3rd – Richard Finlay-Jones-NSW
4th – Jamie Ralston-WA